Book a Call

The Role of The Teacher in 2021

education Aug 16, 2021

Let’s face it. We are living in unprecedented times. The debate in our American education system is outlandish. And the fear of teaching during COVID is real.

My heart aches for our teachers this year. They are leaving the school system in droves to retire and throw in the towel... and I can't say that I blame them. Those that are left face coronavirus ramifications such as mask mandates and being forced to bounce back and forth between online and in-person school. As if that was not enough to worry about, they teachers are also subject to micromanaging of classroom content, as several school systems insist cancel culture and critical race theory are taught, while other school systems refuse to infuse those two theories into the curriculum.

In today’s post, I want to encourage teachers to take a deep breath and realize you cannot make everyone happy. I recall a time in my life when I struggled to please everyone. I had lots of “bosses” and lots of people in my life with opinions of what I should or should not do. After years of being run ragged and depleting my own health trying to do what everyone else wanted me to do, I turned my eyes to Jesus. I decided that at the end of each day, my goal is to honor and please God. If what I did throughout the day did not please others, too bad. They were not the one and only true God, and my job from that point forward was to focus my eyes upon Him.

James 3:1 reminds us not to rush to become a teacher. If you are a teacher or you are thinking of becoming a teacher, there is a big responsibility that comes with stewarding God’s resources. For this reason alone, I strive to be the best teacher I can while teaching the truth and treating all students equally with love and compassion.

If you are a teacher and you are worried about this school year, I encourage you to join us for our free public monthly prayer meeting which always takes place on the third Friday of every month, with our next one happening on August 20th at 6am PT/7am MT/8am CT/9am ET. You are also invited to join His Kingdom Matters where we equip and support Christians to integrate their faith in all areas of life.

You are not alone. 

Looking for support living as a Christian in the world today?  His Kingdom Matters provides the resources and community you've been searching for, including a monthly prayer guide, lecture, prayers led by Dr. Dean, a live monthly group call, and so much more.  Click below to learn more!

Learn More